An act of love


An act of love

An Act of Love- © PhillyManJim 2013

The obsessive intensity of trying to write poetry keeps me up until daybreak,
And with bloodshot eyes and tired mind I tackle my day job
however, such tiredness is short-lived and a mere inconvenience
For birthing a poem is an act of love

At work I do Ok, because when the alligators are circling
I apply the same obsessive intensity to my paid job
Which can keep me up until after daybreak
and with bloodshot eyes and tired mind I start the new day
However the stress from pressure that comes is short-lived and a mere inconvenience,
For working my day job is an act of love

The relaxed intensity of working in my garden rarely keeps me up late
But can sometimes result in backache
However such pain is short-lived and a mere inconvenience,
Overshadowed by the experiences of being enveloped in the greenery,
With the rich smells of the earth and the beauty of the flowers and animals
For doing my gardening is an act of love

The responsible intensity of being a father has lost me some sleep,
I’ve stayed up all night relearning advanced algebra so I could help a daughter with her math, and stayed up nights when one or the other had the croup,
and with weary eyes and hurting brain I start the new day.
But such pain is short lived and a mere inconvenience
overshadowed by the rich experiences, the lessons learned, the laughter, the tears and the joy of being ‘Dad’,
For raising my children is an act of love

The glowing intensity of spending the last thirty years with you has been a rich and rewarding journey, but it hasn’t always been easy,
Because life happens and and I don’t always keep it together;
when loss and heartache descend and cause such exquisite pain I sometimes convert it to anger because it’s easier than sad.
However grief and loss are realities of life, for every living thing dies…
And you standing by me when I’m unraveled is an act of love.

2 thoughts on “An act of love

Leave a Reply

